top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshley

Kings Park Bluff


Today, I wanted to write about one of my favorite areas to wander around on the island, which is the Kings Park Bluff. I have been going here to hike and/or relax on the beach since high school, and it is still one of my favorite spots on Long Island to this day. I love going here all year long since it provides such a nice, peaceful atmosphere so close to my home. If you are from Long Island and have never visited The Bluff, I recommend you continue reading to find out more about this tranquil town park.

 

Getting There


One of the aspects I enjoy the most about The Bluff is that it is never overly crowded since it is more of a low-key, somewhat overlooked area. It is important to note that since this is considered a town park, you have to be a Town of Smithtown resident (which includes 6 towns on Long Island, as well as some parts of others) in order to get in. However, if you are not part of the town and you happen to visit when the cops/town are not regulating who enters, feel free to enter the main parking area. Even if you are not a town resident, anyone is allowed to park in the designated parking spots prior to the booth to actually enter the park. I have parked in both areas since I am a town resident, and the trails you take from the parking lot "outside" of the park lead to the exact same areas as if you parked in the other lot. So, there's a tip for non-residents!

Additionally, as you drive to The Bluff, you will note that you drive through/past the Kings Park Psychiatric Center, which has a waterfront section that goes by Nissequogue River State Park. Furthermore, if you walk all the way down The Bluff to the left, you will see the beach connects to Sunken Meadow State Park. Ultimately, The Bluff is nestled in between the psych center and Sunken Meadow, which means if you wanted to, you can hike all three of these locations since they do connect pretty nicely. I visit all three of these locations on a pretty regular basis since they provide a great way to enjoy the outdoors!


What to do


When I go to The bluff, I typically park at the parking lot on top of the hill. This provides a great overlook of the water and beach, as well as is a great starting point if you are looking to hike. I usually enter through the opening in the gate (pictured below) to begin my hike. The "outside" parking lot is also a great starting point for a hike since as mentioned, no matter where you park, the paths will lead to the same destination. If you prefer not to hike, you can also park in the main lot, which has benches to enjoy the view, as well as stairs that lead down to the beach. As you can see, the park recently added a safety precaution to the bottom of the stairs because of the slippery rocks, but you can still go onto the beach.

If you choose to enter the hiking path, shortly after going up the hill, you will see one of my favorite viewpoints of Long Island. Even if you are not in the mood to do a lengthy hike, I would definitely still enter the hiking path to see this sight in person. Pictures do not do this view justice. If you are interested in hiking, you can continue up and follow the path, which will continue to provide great views of the beach. Once you are at the top (facing the beach), continue left and follow the hiking trail alongside the water, you will eventually run into the hiking trails at Sunken Meadow. Whether you decide to relax on the beach or head up into the woodsy hiking trail, you will have a great day at The Bluff!

Since The Bluff itself is on the smaller side, I would definitely consider hiking over to Sunken Meadow State Park if you are traveling from further away. I love visiting The Bluff all year round since it is a great little escape no matter what the season is. As previously mentioned, I have been exploring this area since I was in high school, and I am still not tired of this view! Although this blog post is on the shorter side, I hope you enjoyed reading about one of my favorite spots on LI, and maybe even discovered a new location to visit.


PS: If you are in this area, make sure to stop by Anderson's Deli for a bite to eat before or after you explore the Kings Park Bluff...you will not regret it!


Many more adventures to come,

Ashley

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page